Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Medium Dead by Paula Paul: A Book Review

Medium Dead: An Alexandra Gladstone MysteryMedium Dead: An Alexandra Gladstone Mystery by Paula Paul
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The good-

I loved the way she wrote a tension between science and spiritual beliefs. The idea of modern medicine and knowledge of body functions is new to many in this small English town. It really put this novel in the right time period.

The race at the end to catch the killer and keep everyone safe was great. It is not often that you can get that effect in a novel as you do on TV. Ms. Paul did and I am impressed.

The bad -

The characters were so focused on how it couldn't be one character that they weren't really looking for the murder. They were looking for ways to exonerate the one. It seemed like half the novel was obsessed with this. It was overdone and very annoying.

The main characters of Alexandra, Nancy, and Nicholas were not terribly memorable. I didn't dislike them, but I didn't really like theme either. I just didn't have a strong sense of who they were. That by itself wouldn't have bothered me too much, but that and the obsession with exoneration almost made me rate it at 2 stars.


View all my reviews


Product Details

  • Print Length: 177 pages
  • Publisher: Alibi (April 14, 2015)
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English

Book Description

 April 14, 2015
Sure to delight readers of Jacqueline Winspear, Emma Jameson, and Laura Childs, Medium Dead features Queen Victoria herself—and she’s rumored to have slain a local psychic in Newton-upon-Sea. Now the task of clearing her name and catching the real killer falls to Dr. Alexandra Gladstone.Under Victoria’s reign, women are barred from calling themselves physicians, but that hasn’t stopped Alexandra Gladstone. As the first female doctor in Newton-upon-Sea, she spends her days tending sick villagers in the practice she inherited from her father, with her loyal and sometimes overprotective dog, Zack, by her side.

After the corpse of village spiritualist Alvina Elwold is discovered aboveground at a church boneyard, wild rumors circulate through the charming seaside village, including one implicating a certain regal guest lodging nearby. Tales of the dead Alvina hobnobbing with spirits and hexing her enemies are even more outlandish—but as a woman of science and reason, Alexandra has no doubt that a murderer made of flesh and blood is on the loose.

Finding out the truth means sorting through a deluge of ghostly visitors, royal sightings, and shifty suspects. At least her attentive and handsome friend Nicholas Forsyth, Lord Dunsford, has come to her aid. Alexandra will need all the help she can get, because she’s stumbled upon dangerous secrets—while provoking a deadly adversary who wants to keep them buried.


Kindle Price:$2.99

Night by Elie Wiesel: A Book Review


Night (The Night Trilogy, #1)Night by Elie Wiesel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

An intimate portrait of what one man experienced in the Holocaust. He didn't add in other bits of history that he didn't experience, so if you are looking for a sweeping summary of all parts of the Holocaust, look elsewhere. I LOVED his extremely small focus. We hear one man's story of horror. We find out the true depths of horror that humanity will put itself through. I felt sick at my stomach in a several places. There are no easy answers and no tidy endings. This is simply what he went through.

In the face of the worst horrors of humanity, what is our response? Too often it is cowardice. We are not alone. Elie discovered the coward within himself. It was honest and gut wrenching. I found myself discovering my own cowardice as well. This is a life changing novel.


View all my reviews


Book Description

 February 7, 2012
A New Translation From The French By Marion Wiesel

Night is Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific, and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps. This new translation by Marion Wiesel, Elie's wife and frequent translator, presents this seminal memoir in the language and spirit truest to the author's original intent. And in a substantive new preface, Elie reflects on the enduring importance of Night and his lifelong, passionate dedication to ensuring that the world never forgets man's capacity for inhumanity to man.

Night offers much more than a litany of the daily terrors, everyday perversions, and rampant sadism at Auschwitz and Buchenwald; it also eloquently addresses many of the philosophical as well as personal questions implicit in any serious consideration of what the Holocaust was, what it meant, and what its legacy is and will be.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 120 pages
  • Publisher: Hill and Wang; Revised edition (January 16, 2006)
  • Language: English

Buy New
 $6.00

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Asylum by Madeline Roux: A Book Review

Asylum (Asylum, #1)Asylum by Madeleine Roux
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

There was potential for lots of greatness in the book. The back story that the characters were discovering was great. However, the characters themselves were unimpressive. Their personal "secrets" were overblown and took away from the story. The pictures were cool but added very little to the novel. There were too many questions left unanswered and the ones that were answered were too quickly answered. The characters didn't discover the answers. The answers just fell in their laps. And some of the answers didn't make sense.

There are two more books and two novellas in this series. Maybe more answers will be given in those. However, I doubt it considering the reviews I have read. And the fact that there are two novellas needed to further explain what is going on makes me very skeptical of the "main" novels.

This is a YA novel, so maybe I shouldn't be so hard on it. Some YA novels hold adult appeal and some don't. This doesn't. In my opinion, Miss Peregrine's is a better YA novel. And Carol Goodman's books are much better for creepy locations full of dark history that is being resolved in the present.

If I was a teen, I think I would have enjoyed this book a whole lot more.


View all my reviews

Amazon information:

Book Description

 August 20, 2013
Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.
For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.


Product Details

  • Print Length: 321 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (August 20, 2013)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English

Buy New  $6.31



DISCLAIMER:
I read this book for my own enjoyment. I did not receive any perks from reviewing this novel. I linked to Amazon simply because that was the easiest place to find the information.